About the PEI Watershed Alliance

The Prince Edward Island Watershed Alliance (PEIWA) is non-profit cooperative association of watershed management groups on Prince Edward Island.

OUR MISSION

The overall goal of the PEIWA is to improve and protect the environmental quality of Prince Edward Island watersheds, for the benefit of all Island residents. The Alliance shall empower Island watershed groups to achieve their goals by promoting cooperation, by serving their needs and by providing a strong, united voice in addressing Island-wide watershed issues.

GUIDING PRINCIPLES

• Access to clean, safe water is a fundamental human right and essential for the physical, social and economic well-being of all Prince Edward Island residents

• Environmental stewardship is at the forefront of the work of the Alliance; water conservation and water quality issues must be considered in the global context and related to other environmental issues such as climate change

• Each member watershed group is autonomous; its capacity to develop and achieve its own goals must be respected

• Successful action depends on willingness to engage communities and to work collaboratively with other community-based organizations and sectors including, but not limited to, agriculture, fishing and shell-fishing, forestry, community or municipal councils, and tourism

• Active participation of member watershed groups is essential for the success of the Alliance

• Member groups are equal in status, regardless of size or number of years in existence

OBJECTIVES

• Serve as a strong, representative voice for community-based watershed organizations

• Support new and existing watershed groups in their development

• Support all watershed groups to carry out the work they have defined as necessary to improve and protect the environmental quality of their watersheds

• promote and improve communication and cooperation between watershed groups in P.E.I.

• Facilitate opportunities for watershed groups to collaborate on the provision of training and services

• Ensure that watershed planning and conservation efforts are taking place in all P.E.I. watersheds

• Ensure that issues affecting the environmental quality of our watersheds are addressed

• Provide input into public policy and programs that support conservation, protection and enhancement of Prince Edward Island’s watersheds

• Create public awareness of watershed issues and of the role of individuals and community in addressing those issues

Send general questions and comments to info@peiwatershedalliance.org

Our Watershed Ecologist: Mary Finch, ecologist@peiwatershedalliance.org

Our Board of Directors for 2016 / 2017

Committee Member

Region

Affiliation

Email

Mike Durant (Chair) Central  Central Queens Wildlife Federation  mike.durant@peiwatershedalliance.org
Karen Rank Western Lot 11 & Area Watershed Management Group karen.rank@peiwatershedalliance.org
Jackie Bourgeois (Treasurer) Eastern Southeast Environmental Association jackie.bourgeois@peiwatershedalliance.org
Kelley Farrar Eastern Stratford Area Watershed Improvement Group  kelley.farrar@peiwatershedalliance.org
Fred Cheverie
(Vice Chair)
Eastern Souris & Area Branch of the PEI Wildlife Federation fred.cheverie@peiwatershedalliance.org
Jim Jenkins Central Friends of Covehead and Brackley Bay jim.jenkins@peiwatershedalliance.org
Hilary Shea (Secretary) Central Hunter-Clyde Watershed Group hilary.shea@peiwatershedalliance.org
Dale Cameron Western Trout Unlimited Prince County Chapter  dale.cameron@peiwatershedalliance.org
Jason Campbell Western Harmony & Area Watershed Enhancement Group  jason.campbell@peiwatershedalliance.org

 

By-laws, Policies

PEI Watershed Alliance By-laws amended AGM 2016

Board Member Agreement

Financial Policy

Communications Policy

Conflict of Interest Policy

PEI Watershed Alliance
PO Box 701
Souris
PEI  C0A 2B0

privacy policy